Life Lessons in the Present Moment

Smell the coffee

LIFE LESSONS


The pull of the internal dialogue

Inner dialogueToday was definitely a lesson in “practice what you preach”.  I’m not talking about anything earth shattering, but the short story is that after a lovely 4-day family vacation away from home, we returned to a partially flooded basement, the pool of water flowing from our heat pump unit- carpet soaked, furniture damaged, and the rest is a story waiting to unfold.  My internal dialogue began immediately, begging to be verbally expressed.  This never should have happened.  Our heat pump has never worked properly.  Why didn’t the service people see this the last time they were here?  And then, How am I going to get any work done with all the phone calls that have to be made, and service visits to be home for?  I’ll have to rearrange my schedule, and it will be extremely inconvenient.  I’m so tired of things not working the way they should.

Returning to the present

I’m sure you get the picture.  I was all about the past and future, not alighting into the present for one moment.  Until I happened to turn on the radio and tune into a talk show in progress on our local NPR station.  They were discussing MBSR (Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction), and its focus on living in the present moment.  Part of the discussion centered around the value of using MBSR’s present-moment focus to manage not just stress, but chronic pain as well.  And then it smacked me in the face with an obvious message – this is all about how to live your life, not just manage issues of stress or chronic pain.  When you are truly just in the moment, then you are free of both the past and future baggage that always wants to come along for the ride.

So…….., I began to practice what I preach.  And I will admit that it required a bit of a shift, because I was very much into my story of feeling maligned and put-upon.  But eventually, with my newly-rediscovered awareness, I was able to get to the point where I let go of what this meant for the next few days or weeks, because frankly, I don’t know WHAT it will mean.  I let go of my fumings about the past because, well, it is done and I can’t change it.  I merely focused on where I was NOW and what I could do NOW.  And, surprise of surprises, I really settled down.  I dealt with the phone calls and service visits today with amazing equanimity, and actually enjoyed chatting with everyone.  I think they picked up on my vibe, because they were all really helpful and sympathetic.  I truly believe that if I had been antagonistic, our communications would have been entirely different and very unsatisfying.

I am sure that it will not all be smooth sailing (whoops, there I go again, diving into the future), but for NOW, I am focused on my NOW, which is working just perfectly.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Life Lessons, Meditation, Stress Reduction, Your Personal Journey
4 comments on “Life Lessons in the Present Moment
  1. Synchronistic or just testimony to the adage, “Great minds think alike.” Seems as though people need to hear our respective reminders. Enjoyed yours! And thank you for the article link. Have a great day. 🙂

    • linbmcd says:

      Thanks for your comment, Eric. And I’ll add that I ALSO need the reminder, as well! Staying present takes practice, which is lifelong!

  2. alexxrae says:

    Incredible post. I love opening my mind more to this practice of noticing the present moment – it is so grounding and rewarding. Thank you for the ping back to my blog. Don’t stop writing the sweet stuff

    • linbmcd says:

      Thank you for your comment, Alex. I agree with you one hundred percent – and we open ourselves up to so many possibilities when we are present.

Leave a Reply

CONNECT WITH ME!

Enter your email address to follow Awakened Lives and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Previous Posts
